Skip to main content
Start of content

ENVI Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 41
Tuesday, December 1, 2009

The Standing Committee on Environment and Sustainable Development met in a televised session at 11:08 a.m. this day, in Room 237-C, Centre Block, the Chair, James Bezan, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: James Bezan, Bernard Bigras, Peter Braid, Blaine Calkins, David J. McGuinty, Christian Ouellet, Francis Scarpaleggia, Justin Trudeau, Mark Warawa, Jeff Watson and Stephen Woodworth.


Acting Members present: Dennis Bevington for Linda Duncan.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Penny Becklumb, Analyst; Tim Williams, Analyst.


Witnesses: Canadian Chemical Producers' Association: Gordon Lloyd, Vice-President, Technical Affairs. Canadian Petroleum Products Institute: Peter Boag, President; Tony Macerollo, Vice-President, Public Policy and Communications. Canadian Steel Producers Association: Ron Watkins, President; Katie Chan, Manager, Environment and Energy. Cement Association of Canada: Pierre Boucher, President and Chief Executive Officer; Bob Masterson, Director, Policy.

Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Wednesday, April 1, 2009, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-311, An Act to ensure Canada assumes its responsibilities in preventing dangerous climate change.

Gordon Lloyd, Peter Boag, Ron Watkins and Pierre Boucher made statements and, with Tony Macerollo and Bob Masterson, answered questions.


At 1:05 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Guyanne L. Desforges
Clerk of the Committee

2010/02/02 4:29 p.m.