Skip to main content Start of content

LANG Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 37
Thursday, June 5, 2008

The Standing Committee on Official Languages met in a televised session at 9:09 a.m. this day, in Room 253-D, Centre Block, the Chair, Steven Blaney, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Steven Blaney, Hon. Michael D. Chong, Hon. Denis Coderre, Jean-Claude D'Amours, Yvon Godin, Raymond Gravel, Denis Lebel, Pierre Lemieux, Daniel Petit, Pablo Rodriguez and Brent St. Denis.


Acting Members present: Luc Malo for Richard Nadeau.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Élise Hurtubise-Loranger, Analyst; Julian Walker, Analyst.


Witnesses: Office of the Commissioner of Official Languages: Renald Dussault, Assistant Commissioner, Compliance Assurance Branch; Graham Fraser, Commissioner of Official Languages; Catherine Scott, Director General, Policy and Communications Branch; Johane Tremblay, General Counsel and Director, Legal Services.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(3)(f), the Committee commenced consideration of the 2007-2008 Annual Report of the Commissioner of Official Languages referred to the Committee on Thursday, May 29, 2008.

The witnesses made statements and answered questions.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on March 13, 2008, the Committee resumed its study of linguistic duality at the 2010 Olympic and Paralympic Winter Games.

The witnesses made statements and answered questions.


At 10:56 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Graeme Truelove
Clerk of the Committee

2008/06/12 3:46 p.m.