Skip to main content

HESA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 14
Thursday, February 28, 2008

The Standing Committee on Health met at 11:05 a.m. this day, in Room 237-C, Centre Block, the Chair, Joy Smith, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Hon. Carolyn Bennett, Patrick Brown, Patricia Davidson, Steven John Fletcher, Christiane Gagnon, Susan Kadis, Luc Malo, Joy Smith, Lui Temelkovski, Hon. Robert Thibault, David Tilson and Judy Wasylycia-Leis.


Acting Members present: Hon. Hedy Fry for Hon. Carolyn Bennett and Roger Valley for Lui Temelkovski.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Nancy Miller Chenier, Analyst.


Witnesses: Canadian Medical Association: John Haggie, Chair, Board Working Group on Pharmaceutical Issues; Samuel Shortt, Director, Knowledge Transfer and Practice Policy. Federation of Medical Regulatory Authorities of Canada: Fleur-Ange Lefebvre, Executive Director and Chief Executive Officer; Douglas Anderson, President Elect. Ontario Ministry of Community Safety and Correctional Services: Andrew McCallum, Regional Supervising Coroner for Eastern Ontario, Office of the Chief Coroner. Canadian Men in Nursing Group: James D'Astolfo, President and Founder; Irfan Aslam, Vice President and Director of Finance.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Tuesday, December 11, 2007, the Committee resumed its study on Post-Market Surveillance of Pharmaceutical Products, Prescription and Non-Prescription.

John Haggie, Douglas Anderson, Andrew McCallum, James D'Astolfo and Irfan Aslam made statements and, with the other witnesses, answered questions.


At 12:46 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 12:47 p.m., the sitting resumed.

The Committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to Committee business.

Judy Wasylycia-Leis moved, — That the Standing Committee on Health request the appearance of the Minister of Health before the Committee as soon as possible in order to discuss the Report on the administration and operation of the Canada Health Act for the fiscal year ending March 31, 2007, as deposited with the Clerk of the House and laid upon the Table on Wednesday, February 20, 2008, and referred to the Committee in accordance with Standing Order 32(5) and section 23 of the Act; and that the Committee report its findings to the House of Commons following the appearance by the Minister.

Debate arose thereon.


Christiane Gagnon moved, — That the motion be amended by adding after the words “following the appearance by the Minister.” the following: “We support Ms. Wasylycia-Leis’s motion, to the extent that the traditional interpretation of the Canada Health Act will continue to apply: in the area of health, Quebec is accountable only to Quebeckers; nothing shall be interpreted in such a way as to override Quebec’s jurisdiction; Quebec is firmly committed to exercising its responsibilities itself; the Quebec government considers that Quebec’s healthcare system and health insurance system fall within its exclusive jurisdiction. The Quebec government has full authority for planning, organizing and managing healthcare services on its territory, governed by Quebec’s own legislative and regulatory framework.”.

The Chair ruled the proposed amendment inadmissible as it exceeded the scope of the motion, as provided on page 453 of House of Commons Procedure and Practice.

After debate, the question was put on the motion and it was negatived, by a show of hands: YEAS: 5; NAYS: 6.


It was agreed, — That the proposed budget in the amount of $15,900.00, for the meeting on the new organ donor regulations, be adopted.


At 1:00 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Carmen DePape
Clerk of the Committee

2008-03-07 3:26 p.m.