Skip to main content
Start of content

FOPO Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 12
Tuesday, February 12, 2008

The Standing Committee on Fisheries and Oceans met in camera at 9:08 a.m. this day, in Room 371, West Block, the Chair, Fabian Manning, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Mike Allen, Raynald Blais, Hon. Gerry Byrne, Blaine Calkins, Randy Kamp, Gerald Keddy, Yvon Lévesque, Fabian Manning, Bill Matthews and Scott Simms.


Acting Members present: Catherine Bell for Peter Stoffer and Hon. Joe McGuire for Hon. Lawrence MacAulay.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: François Côté, Analyst.

The Committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to Committee business.

It was agreed, — That the proposed budget in the amount of $9,500 for the James Bay Eelgrass Beds study be adopted.


It was agreed, — That pursuant to Standing Order 110 and 111, Claire Dansereau be invited to appear before the Committee for two hours on March 11, 2008, in relation to her appointment as Associate Deputy Minister of Fisheries and Oceans.


It was agreed, — That, pursuant to Standing Order 108(2), the Committee consider the Amendment to the Convention on Future Multilateral Cooperation in the Northwest Atlantic Fisheries agreed to in Lisbon, Portugal, on September 28, 2007, as a significant treaty and call to appear the Minister of Fisheries and Oceans with appropriate officials; former Deputy Minister of Fisheries and Oceans Bill Rowat; former Assistant Deputy Minister of Atlantic Fisheries, Science and Oceans, Scott Parsons; former Directors-General, International, Bob Applebaum and Earl Wiseman; former Deputy Minister of Fisheries and Oceans; Arthur May; former Government of Newfoundland and Labrador Deputy Minister of Fisheries and Aquaculture, Les Dean; Alastair O'Reilly; Earl McCurdy; and Ray Andrews as well as other expert or affected witnesses.


At 10:51 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Julia Lockhart
Clerk of the Committee

2008/02/28 3:39 p.m.