Skip to main content Start of content

CIMM Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
2nd Session, 39th Parliament   2e Session, 39e législature

Standing Committee on Citizenship and Immigration   Comité permanent de la citoyenneté et de l'immigration
Meeting No. 25 Séance no 25
Tuesday, April 8, 2008 Le mardi 8 avril 2008
9:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m. 9 heures à 12 heures
Toronto, Ont.   Toronto, Ont.
Delta Toronto East   Delta Toronto East
Room Toronto B   Pièce Toronto B
2035 Kennedy Road   2035, chemin Kennedy
(416) 299-1500   (416) 299-1500

Orders of the Day   Ordre du jour
1. Iraqi Refugees
1. Réfugiés irakiens
Witnesses Témoins
9:00 to 10:00  9 heures à 10 heures
Assyrian, Chaldean, Syriac Student Union of Canada Assyrian, Chaldean, Syriac Student Union of Canada
Alda Benjamen, Educational coordinator
Member of the board
 Alda Benjamen, coordinatrice en éducation
membre du conseil d'administration
Assyrian Society of Canada Assyrian Society of Canada
Paul Baba, Member Paul Baba, membre
As an individual À titre personnel
Howard Adelman, Professor Emeritus
York University, Principal Research Fellow, Key Centre for Ethics, Law and Governance, Griffith University, Brisbane, Australia
 Howard Adelman, Professor émirite
York Université, agrégé principal de recherches, Key Centre for Ethics, Law and Governance, Griffith University, Brisbane, Australie
Welfare Committee for the Assyrian Community in Canada Welfare Committee for the Assyrian Community in Canada
Mirza Shmoil, Chairman and Executive Director Mirza Shmoil, présidente et directrice exécutive
Mandean Human Rights Group Mandean Human Rights Group
Mike Razzak Mike Razzak
St. Barsaumo Syriac - Orthodox Church (Scarborough) St. Barsaumo Syriac - Orthodox Church (Scarborough)
Talal Allo, Member Talal Allo, membre

2. Undocumented and Temporary Foreign Workers
2. Travailleurs sans-papiers et travailleurs étrangers temporaires
Witnesses Témoins
10:00 a.m. to 11:00 a.m. 10 heures à 11 heures
STATUS Coalition STATUS Coalition
Amy Casipullai, Policy and Public Education Coordinator
Ontario Council of Agencies Serving Immigrants
 Amy Casipullai, coordonnatrice des politiques et de l'inititaion du public
Ontario Council of Agencies Serving Immigrants
Francisco Rico-Martinez, Co-Director
Faithful Companions of Jesus (FCJ) Refugee Centre
 Francisco Rico-Martinez, codirecteur
Faithful Companions of Jesus (FCJ) Refugee Centre
No One Is Illegal No One Is Illegal
Scott MacDonald, Certified Immigration Consultant
Carranza Barristers and Solicitors (Toronto)
 Scott MacDonald, consultant certifié en immigration
Carranza Barristers and Solicitors (Toronto)
Kirpa Kaur, Activist Kirpa Kaur, activiste
11:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m. 11 heures à 12 heures
Canadian Hispanic Congress Canadian Hispanic Congress
Vilma Filici, President Vilma Filici, présidente
Canadian Ecumenical Justice Initiatives (KAIROS) Initiatives canadiennes oecuméniques pour la justice (KAIROS)
Alfredo Barahona, Program Coordinator
Refugees and Migrants
 Alfredo Barahona, coordonnateur de programmes
Réfugiés et migrants
Labourer's International Union of North America (LIUNA) Labourer's International Union of North America (LIUNA)
Cosmo Mannella, Director
Canadian Tri-Fund
 Cosmo Mannella, directeur
Canadian Tri-Fund
José M. Eustaquio José M. Eustaquio
Mennonite New Life Centre of Toronto Mennonite New Life Centre of Toronto
Tanya Chute Molina, Executive Director Tanya Chute Molina, directrice administrative
Mariela Salinas, Student intern (Settlement) Mariela Salinas, stagiaire (Établissement)
Le greffier du Comité
Andrew Bartholomew Chaplin ((613) 995-8525)
Clerk of the Committee
2008/04/07 6:47 p.m.   2008/04/07 18 h 47