Skip to main content Start of content

CIIT Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 20
Wednesday, March 12, 2008

The Standing Committee on International Trade met at 3:39 p.m. this day, in Room 371, West Block, the Chair, Lee Richardson, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Dean Allison, Guy André, Hon. Navdeep Bains, Ron Cannan, Sukh Dhaliwal, Peter Julian, John Maloney, Larry Miller and Lee Richardson.


Acting Members present: Jean-Yves Roy for Serge Cardin.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Michael Holden, Analyst.


Witnesses: Lang Michener LLP: Cyndee Todgham Cherniak, Counsel, International Trade Group. Bombardier Inc.: George Haynal, Vice-President, Government Relations.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on February 25, 2008, the Committee resumed its study of the Free Trade Agreement Between Canada and the States of the European Free Trade Association (Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Switzerland).

The witnesses made statements and answered questions.


At 4:48 p.m., the sitting was suspended.


At 4:50 p.m., the Committee resumed sitting in camera.

The Committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to Committee business.

It was agreed, — That, pursuant to Standing Order 108 (2), the Committee undertake a study on Free Trade Agreements and ongoing negotiations between Canada and the countries of the Andean Community of Nations (Colombia, Peru, Ecuador and Bolivia).


At 5:19 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Jacques Lahaie
Clerk of the Committee

2008/03/13 9:47 a.m.