Skip to main content
Start of content

AGRI Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 13
Thursday, February 7, 2008

The Standing Committee on Agriculture and Agri-Food met at 9:05 a.m. this day, in Room 253-D, Centre Block, the Chair, James Bezan, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Alex Atamanenko, James Bezan, Ken Boshcoff, Hon. Wayne Easter, Guy Lauzon, Larry Miller, Hon. Carol Skelton, Lloyd St. Amand, Paul Steckle, Brian Storseth and Ève-Mary Thaï Thi Lac.


Acting Members present: Gérard Asselin for André Bellavance.


Associate Members present: Blaine Calkins.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Jean-Denis Fréchette, Principal; Frédéric Forge, Analyst.


Appearing: Hon. Gerry Ritz, Minister of Agriculture and Agri-Food.


Witnesses: Department of Agriculture and Agri-Food: Andrew Marsland, Assistant Deputy Minister, Strategic Policy Branch. Department of the Environment: Gord Owen, Director General , Energy and Transportation. Department of Agriculture and Agri-Food: Steve Verheul, Chief Agriculture Negotiator, Negotiations and Multilateral Trade Policy Directorate.

Pursuant to the Order of Reference of February 1st, 2008, the Committee commenced consideration of Bill C-33, Act to amend the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999.

The Minister Gerry Ritz made a statement and, with Andrew Marsland and Gord Owen, answered questions.


At 10:03 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 10:06 a.m., the sitting resumed.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2), the Committee proceeded a briefing on the World Trade Organization.

Steve Verheul made a statement and answered questions.


At 11:00 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Jean-François Lafleur
Clerk of the Committee

2008/02/07 11:55 a.m.