Skip to main content
Start of content

AGRI Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 11
Thursday, January 31, 2008

The Standing Committee on Agriculture and Agri-Food met at 9:07 a.m. this day, in Room 269, West Block, the Chair, James Bezan, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Alex Atamanenko, André Bellavance, James Bezan, Ken Boshcoff, Hon. Wayne Easter, Guy Lauzon, Hon. Carol Skelton, Lloyd St. Amand, Paul Steckle, Brian Storseth and Ève-Mary Thaï Thi Lac.


Acting Members present: Rick Norlock for Larry Miller, Bev Shipley for Larry Miller and Mervin Tweed for Larry Miller.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Jean-Denis Fréchette, Principal; Mathieu Frigon, Analyst.


Witnesses: Canadian Cattlemen's Association: Dennis Laycraft, Executive Vice-President; Brad Wildeman, Vice-President; John Masswohl, Director. Canadian Pork Council: Clare Schlegel, President; Stephen Moffett, Director. Department of Agriculture and Agri-Food: Andrew Marsland, Assistant Deputy Minister, Strategic Policy Branch; Krista L. Mountjoy, Assistant Deputy Minister, Market and Industry Services Branch; Nada Semaan, Assistant Deputy Minister, Farm Financial Programs Branch; Danny Foster, Director General. Canadian Food Inspection Agency: Billy Hewett, Executive Director, Program Policy Directorate.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2), the Committee commenced its study on the Collapse of the Beef and Pork Sector Revenues.

From 9:07 a.m. to 10:13 a.m.: Brad Wildeman, Clare Schlegel and Stephen Moffett made statements and, with Dennis Laycraft, answered questions.


At 10:13 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 10:19 a.m., the sitting resumed.


From 10:19 a.m. to 11:00 a.m.: Krista L. Mountjoy made a statement and, with Andrew Marsland, Danny Foster, Nada Semaan, and Billy Hewett, answered questions.


At 11:01 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Jean-François Lafleur
Clerk of the Committee

2008/01/31 2:43 p.m.