Skip to main content Start of content

AANO Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 22
Monday, April 7, 2008

The Standing Committee on Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development met in a televised session at 3:32 p.m. this day, in Room 237-C, Centre Block, the Chair, Barry Devolin, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Harold Albrecht, Rod Bruinooge, Rob Clarke, Jean Crowder, Barry Devolin, Nancy Karetak-Lindell, Tina Keeper, Marc Lemay, Yvon Lévesque, Todd Norman Russell and Chris Warkentin.


Acting Members present: Brian Masse for Jean Crowder, Christian Ouellet for Marc Lemay and Roger Valley for Hon. Anita Neville.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Mary Hurley, Analyst; Marlisa Tiedemann, Analyst.


Witnesses: Mining Association of Canada: Gordon Peeling, President and Chief Executive Officer; Pierre Gratton, Vice-President, Public Affairs and Communication. Assembly of First Nations: Bill Erasmus, Regional chief, Northwest Territories; François Paulette, Northwest Territories representative on the Chiefs Committee on Claims.

Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Monday, December 10, 2007, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-30, An Act to establish the Specific Claims Tribunal and to make consequential amendments to other Acts.

Gordon Peeling made a statement and, with Pierre Gratton, answered questions.


At 4:30 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:36 p.m., the sitting resumed by videoconference.


Bill Erasmus and François Paulette made statements and answered questions.


At 5:28 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Bonnie Charron
Clerk of the Committee

2008/04/08 2:33 p.m.