Skip to main content Start of content

JUST Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
1st Session, 39th Parliament   1re Session, 39e législature

Standing Committee on Justice and Human Rights   Comité permanent de la justice et des droits de la personne
Meeting No. 66 Séance no 66
Thursday, May 3, 2007 Le jeudi 3 mai 2007
9:00 a.m. to 11:00 a.m. 9 heures à 11 heures
Room 371, West Block   Pièce 371, édifice de l'Ouest
(613-992-1192)   (613-992-1192)

Orders of the Day   Ordre du jour
1. Bill C-23, An Act to amend the Criminal Code (criminal procedure, language of the accused, sentencing and other amendments)
1. Projet de loi C-23, Loi modifiant le Code criminel (procédure pénale, langue de l'accusé, détermination de la peine et autres modifications)
9:00 a.m. to 10:30 a.m. 9 heures à 10 h 30
Witnesses Témoins
Office of the Commissioner of Official Languages Commissariat aux langues officielles
Graham Fraser, Commissioner of Official Languages Graham Fraser, commissaire aux langues officielles
Johane Tremblay, Director
Legal Affairs Branch
 Johane Tremblay, directrice
Direction générale des affaires juridiques
Federation of Associations of French-speaking Jurists of Common Law Inc. Fédération des associations de juristes d'expression française de Common Law inc.
Louise Aucoin, President Louise Aucoin, présidente

10:30 a.m. to 11:00 a.m. 10 h 30 à 11 heures
2. Notice of motion from Réal Ménard
2. Avis de motion de Réal Ménard
Witnesses Témoins
Department of Justice ministère de la Justice
William C. Bartlett, Senior Counsel
Criminal Law Policy Section
 William C. Bartlett, avocat-conseil
Section de la politique en matière de droit pénal
Matthew Taylor, Counsel
Criminal Law Policy Section
 Matthew Taylor, avocat
Section de la politique en matière de droit pénal
Le greffier du Comité
Diane Diotte (613-996-1553)
Clerk of the Committee
2007/05/02 5:33 p.m.   2007/05/02 17 h 33