Skip to main content Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 34
Tuesday, October 17, 2006

The Standing Committee on Finance met in a televised session at 10:02 a.m. this day, in Room 253-D, Centre Block, the Chair, Brian Pallister, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Diane Ablonczy, Dean Del Mastro, Rick Dykstra, Hon. John McCallum, Hon. John McKay, Massimo Pacetti, Brian Pallister, Pierre A. Paquette, Michael Savage, Thierry St-Cyr, Hon. Garth Turner and Judy Wasylycia-Leis.


In attendance: Standing Committee on Finance: Shaila Anwar, Co-Clerk of the Committee. Library of Parliament: June Dewetering, Principal; Alexandre Laurin, Analyst.


Witnesses: National Council of Welfare: John Murphy, Chair. Conseil canadien de la coopération: Michel Rouleau, Chair of the Board. Canadian Worker Co-operative Federation: Mark Goldblatt, President. Canada's Association for the Fifty-Plus: Judy Cutler, Director, Government and Media Relations; William Gleberzon, Co-director, Government and Media Relations. Canadian Alliance on Mental Illness and Mental Health: Phil Upshall, National Executive Director. Aboriginal Institutes' Consortium: Lu Ann Hill, Executive Director. Ontario Museum Association: Gilles Séguin, Board Member. Ottawa Centre for Research and Innovation: Jeffrey Dale, President and Chief Executive Officer. Co-operative Housing Federation of Canada: Ken Elliott, President. ABC CANADA Literacy Foundation: Margaret Eaton, President. Investment Funds Institute of Canada: Jamie Golombek, Chair, Taxation Working Group. Canadian Courier and Logistics Association: Al Cormier, Executive Director, Electric Mobility Canada. Credit Union Central of Canada: Mike Tarr, Chair, Board of Directors.

Pursuant to Standing Order 83.1, the Committee resumed its pre-budget consultations 2006.

The witnesses made statements and answered questions.


At 11:29 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 11:40 a.m., the sitting resumed.


At 11:52 a.m., Massimo Pacetti took the Chair.


At 12:06 p.m., Brian Pallister took the Chair.


At 12:58 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Elizabeth B. Kingston
Clerk of the Committee

2006/11/01 11:05 a.m.