Skip to main content Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 21
Monday, September 25, 2006

The Standing Committee on Finance met in a televised session at 3:31 p.m. this day, in Room 253-D, Centre Block, the Chair, Brian Pallister, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Diane Ablonczy, Dean Del Mastro, Rick Dykstra, Hon. John McKay, Massimo Pacetti, Brian Pallister, Hon. Garth Turner and Judy Wasylycia-Leis.


Acting Members present: Robert Carrier for Pierre A. Paquette, Susan Kadis for Hon. John McCallum, Louis Plamondon for Thierry St-Cyr and Alan Tonks for Michael Savage.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Philippe Bergevin, Analyst; June Dewetering, Principal. Standing Committee on Finance: Shaila Anwar, Co-Clerk of the Committee.


Witnesses: National Anti-Poverty Organization: Debbie Frost, President. Canadian Renewable Fuels Association: Kory Teneycke, Executive Director. Canadian Labour Congress: Andrew Jackson, Senior Economist. Juvenile Diabetes Research Foundation of Canada: Robert Hindle, Member of the Board of Directors. Police Association of Ontario: Bruce Miller, Administrator. American Federation of Musicians of the United States and Canada: Paul Sharpe, Director, Freelance Services Division. Provincial Building and Construction Trades Council of Ontario: Brett McKenzie, Executive Chairman, IBEW Construction Council of Ontario. International Association of Fire Fighters: Jim Lee, Assistant to the General President, Canadian Operations. Canadian Home Builders' Association: David Wassmansdorf, Immediate Past President; Richard Lind, First Vice-President. Intuit Canada: Yves Millette, President & Chief Executive Officer. Canadian Institute of Chartered Accountants: Kevin Dancey, President and Chief Executive Officer. Canadian Teachers' Federation: Harvey Weiner, Policy Advisor, Government and External Relations. Canadian Construction Association: Michael Atkinson, President. Heart and Stroke Foundation of Canada: Sally Brown, Chief Executive Officer.

Pursuant to Standing Order 83.1, the Committee resumed its pre-budget consultations 2006.

The witnesses made statements and answered questions.


At 4:56 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 5:01 p.m., the sitting resumed.


At 6:30 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Elizabeth B. Kingston
Clerk of the Committee

2006/10/13 10:33 a.m.