Skip to main content Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 20
Monday, September 25, 2006

The Standing Committee on Finance met in a televised session at 12:10 p.m. this day, in Room 253-D, Centre Block, the Chair, Brian Pallister, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Diane Ablonczy, Dean Del Mastro, Rick Dykstra, Hon. John McCallum, Massimo Pacetti, Brian Pallister, Hon. Garth Turner and Judy Wasylycia-Leis.


Acting Members present: Hon. Charles Hubbard for Michael Savage, Louis Plamondon for Thierry St-Cyr and Yasmin Ratansi for Hon. John McKay.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: June Dewetering, Principal; Alexandre Laurin, Analyst. Standing Committee on Finance: Shaila Anwar, Co-Clerk of the Committee.


Witnesses: National Association of Indigenous Institutes of Higher Learning: Trevor Lewis, Chair. Heritage Canada Foundation: Nathalie Bull, Executive Director. Canadian Centre for Policy Alternatives: Ellen Russell, Economist; Mathieu Dufour, Economist. Community Foundations of Canada: Monica Patten, President and Chief Executive Officer. Canadian Centre for Emergency Preparedness: Adrian Gordon, President. Citizens for Public Justice: Greg deGroot-Maggetti, Analyst, Socio-Economic Policy. Canadian Dental Hygienists Association: Bonnie Blank, President.

Pursuant to Standing Order 83.1, the Committee resumed its pre-budget consultations 2006.

The witnesses made statements and answered questions.


At 12:50 p.m., Massimo Pacetti took the Chair.


At 12:55 p.m., Brian Pallister took the Chair.


At 1:35 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Elizabeth B. Kingston
Clerk of the Committee

2006/10/13 10:32 a.m.