Skip to main content Start of content

FAAE Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 4
Wednesday, May 17, 2006

The Standing Committee on Foreign Affairs and International Development met in a televised session at 3:38 p.m. this day, in Room 237-C, Centre Block, the Chair, Kevin Sorenson, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Diane Bourgeois, Peter Goldring, Hon. Keith Martin, Deepak Obhrai, Bernard Patry, Kevin Sorenson and Peter Van Loan.


Acting Members present: Dean Allison for Bill Casey, Rob Anders for Peter Van Loan, Peter Julian for Alexa McDonough, Hon. Gurbax Malhi for Hon. Bryon Wilfert, Brian Masse for Alexa McDonough, Brian Storseth for Deepak Obhrai and Merv Tweed for Deepak Obhrai.


Associate Members present: Jim Abbott, Ted Menzies and Rob Merrifield.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Gerald Schmitz, Principal.


Witnesses: Department of Foreign Affairs: Hon. Michael Wilson, Ambassador of Canada to the United States of America; Peter McGovern, Acting Assistant Deputy Minister, North America.

Pursuant to Standing Orders 110 and 111, the Committee commenced consideration of the Order in Council appointment of the Honourable Michael Wilson to the position of Ambassador of Canada to the United States of America which was referred to the Committee on Wednesday, April 26, 2006.

Ambassador Wilson made a statement and answered questions.


At 4:51 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:54 p.m., the sitting resumed.

The Committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to Committee business.

By unanimous consent, it was agreed, — That notwithstanding any usually committee practice, Bernard Patry and Dean Allison jointly move a motion.


By unanimous consent on the motion jointly moved by Bernard Patry and Dean Allison, it was agreed, — That the Committee, supports the bid of Taiwan for observer status at the World Health Organization.


At 5:00 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Angela Crandall
Clerk of the Committee

2006/05/18 3:11 p.m.