Skip to main content

CIIT Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 6
Wednesday, May 31, 2006

The Standing Committee on International Trade met at 3:32 p.m. this day, in Room 269, West Block, the vice chair, Pierre A.Paquette, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Guy André, Ron Cannan, Hon. Mark Eyking, Helena Guergis, Peter Julian, Hon. Dominic LeBlanc, Pierre Lemieux, John Maloney, Ted Menzies and Pierre A. Paquette.


Acting Members present: Randy Kamp for Leon Benoit, Lloyd St. Amand for Lui Temelkovski and Paul Steckle for Lui Temelkovski.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Peter Berg, Analyst; Elizabeth Kuruvila, Analyst. Standing Committee on International Trade: Alexandre Roger, Co-Clerk of the Committee.


Witnesses: Baker Hostetler: Elliot J. Feldman, Trade Lawyer. Ontario Lumber Manufacturers' Association: David G. Milton, President. Quebec Forest Industry Council: Guy Chevrette, President Executive Director. B.C. Lumber Trade Council: John Allan, President. Independent Lumber Remanufacturers' Association: Russ Cameron, President. Abitibi Consolidated: John Weaver, President and Chief Executive Officer. Tembec: James Lopez, President. Canfor Corporation: Ken O. Higginbotham, Vice-President, Forestry and Environment. Weyerhaeuser Company: Sarah Goodman, Vice-President, Government and Public Affairs.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2), the Committee resumed its study of Softwood Lumber.

Elliot J. Feldman, David G. Milton, Guy Chevrette, John Allan, Russ Cameron, John Weaver, James Lopez, Ken O. Higginbotham and Sarah Goodman made statements and answered questions.


At 5:35 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Richard Dupuis
Clerk of the Committee

2007/10/18 9:55 a.m.