Skip to main content Start of content

CC30 Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 3
Monday, February 5, 2007

The Legislative Committee on Bill C-30 met in a televised session at 5:37 p.m. this day, in Room 237-C, Centre Block, the Chair, Laurie Hawn, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Bernard Bigras, Nathan Cullen, Paul Dewar, Hon. John Godfrey, Laurie Hawn, Mark Holland, Brian Jean, Marcel Lussier, Fabian Manning, David J. McGuinty, Hon. Christian Paradis, Francis Scarpaleggia, Mark Warawa and Jeff Watson.


Other Members present: Dennis Bevington and Hon. Peter Van Loan.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Sam Banks, Analyst; Tim Williams, Analyst. House of Commons: Joann Garbig, Legislative Clerk.


Witnesses: Department of Health: Phil Blagden, Manager, Air Health Effects Division. Department of Natural Resources: Carol Buckley, Director General, Office of Energy Efficiency. Department of Transport: Catherine Higgens, Director, Environmental Initiatives Division. Department of the Environment: John Moffet, Acting Director General, Systems and Priorities. Department of Transport: Guylaine Roy, Director General, Environmental Affairs.

The Committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to Committee business.

Jeff Watson moved, — That the Association of International Automobile Manufacturers of Canada be added to the winesses invited to appear on February 6th, 2007 from 3:30-5:30.

Debate arose thereon.


After debate, the question was put on the motion and it was agreed to.


John Godfrey moved, — That John Bennett of the Climate Action Network be added to the witnesses invited to appear on February 6, 2007 from 3:30-5:30.

Debate arose thereon.


After debate, the question was put on the motion and it was agreed to.

The Committee proceeded to a Technical Briefing on Bill C-30.

John Moffet, Carol Buckley and Guylaine Roy made statements and, with the other witnesses, answered questions.


At 6:35 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 7:27 p.m., the sitting resumed.


The Committee resumed the technical breifing on Bill C-30. Questioning of the witnesses resumed.


Paul Dewar moved, — That he be given the opportunity to question witnesses.


The Chair ruled he would not recognize Mr. Dewer as this request did not reflect the intent of the motion on speaking times adopted by the Committee on December 14, 2006


Whereupon, Paul Dewar appealed the decision of the Chair.

The question: "Shall the decision of the Chair be sustained?" was put and the decision was sustained on the following recorded division: YEAS: Bernard Bigras, John Godfrey, Brian Jean, Marcel Lussier, Fabian Manning, David J. McGuinty, Christian Paradis, Francis Scarpaleggia, Mark Warawa, Jeff Watson — 10; NAYS: Paul Dewar — 1.


At 8:46 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Chad Mariage
Clerk of the Committee

2007/02/06 2:10 p.m.