Skip to main content
Start of content

CC2 Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 8
Tuesday, May 16, 2006

The Legislative Committee on Bill C-2 met in a televised session at 3:30 p.m. this day, in Room 253-D, Centre Block, the Chair, David Tilson, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Luc Harvey, Carole Lavallée, Tom Lukiwski, Pat Martin, James Moore, Rob Moore, Brian Murphy, Hon. Stephen Owen, Daniel Petit, Pierre Poilievre, Benoît Sauvageau, David Tilson, Alan Tonks and Paul Zed.


Other Members present: Hon. Shawn Murphy.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Katherine Kirkwood, Analyst; Kristen Douglas, Analyst; Élise Hurtubise-Loranger, Analyst.


Witnesses: Office of the Ethics Commissioner: Bernard Shapiro, Ethics Commissioner; Robert F. Benson, Deputy Commissioner; Lyne Robinson-Dalpé, Director, Corporate Affairs. As an individual: Robert Marleau, Chair of the board of directors of the Parliamentary Centre and Former Clerk of the House of Commons. Public Service Commission of Canada: Maria Barrados, President; Gaston Arseneault, General Counsel.

Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Thursday, April 27, 2006, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-2, An Act providing for conflict of interest rules, restrictions on election financing and measures respecting administrative transparency, oversight and accountability.

Bernard Shapiro made a statement and answered questions.


At 4:12 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:14 p.m., the sitting resumed.


Robert Marleau made a statement and answered questions.


At 4:56 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:58 p.m., the sitting resumed.


By unanimous consent, the Committee agreed to extend the sitting past 5:30 p.m. to allow for a full 40 minute session.


Maria Barrados made a statement and, with Gaston Arseneault, answered questions.


At 5:37 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Miriam Burke
Clerk of the Committee

2006/05/17 1:21 p.m.