Skip to main content
Start of content

CC2 Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 19
Monday, June 5, 2006

The Legislative Committee on Bill C-2 met in a televised session at 5:01 p.m. this day, in Room 237-C, Centre Block, the Chair, David Tilson, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Monique Guay, Hon. Marlene Jennings, Tom Lukiwski, Pat Martin, James Moore, Rob Moore, Brian Murphy, Hon. Stephen Owen, Daniel Petit, Pierre Poilievre, Benoît Sauvageau, David Tilson and Alan Tonks.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Katherine Kirkwood, Director; Kristen Douglas, Analyst.


Witnesses: House of Commons: Rob Walsh, Law Clerk and Parliamentary Counsel; Richard Denis, Deputy Law Clerk and Parliamentary Counsel.

Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Thursday, April 27, 2006, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-2, An Act providing for conflict of interest rules, restrictions on election financing and measures respecting administrative transparency, oversight and accountability.

Rob Walsh and Richard Denis answered questions.

The Committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to Committee business.

Marlene Jennings moved, — That this committee, through its Chair, request the Minister of Justice and Attorney General of Canada to appear before the committee on Tuesday, June 6th, from 3:30 p.m. to 5:30 p.m..


The question was put on the motion and the result of the vote was announced: YEAS: 6; NAYS: 6.

Whereupon, the Chair voted in the negative.

Accordingly, the motion was negatived.


At 6:34 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Miriam Burke
Clerk of the Committee

2006-06-06 12:16 p.m.