Skip to main content
Start of content

CC2 Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 16
Wednesday, May 31, 2006

The Legislative Committee on Bill C-2 met in a televised session at 3:35 p.m. this day, in Room 237-C, Centre Block, the Chair, David Tilson, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Monique Guay, Hon. Marlene Jennings, Derek Lee, Tom Lukiwski, Pat Martin, James Moore, Rob Moore, Hon. Stephen Owen, Daniel Petit, Pierre Poilievre, Yasmin Ratansi, Benoît Sauvageau, David Tilson and Alan Tonks.


Other Members present: Paul Dewar and Brian Murphy.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Katherine Kirkwood, Director; Jack Stilborn, Analyst.


Witnesses: United Steelworkers: Kristen Agrell, Counsel, Legal Department, National Office of the United Steelworkers Union. Ontario Nurses' Association: Shalom Schachter, Interest Arbitration and Long Term Care Regulation Lead, Provincial Services Team. As individuals: C.E.S. Franks, Professor Emeritus of Political Science, Queen's University; Arthur Kroeger.

Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Thursday, April 27, 2006, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-2, An Act providing for conflict of interest rules, restrictions on election financing and measures respecting administrative transparency, oversight and accountability.

Shalom Schacter and Kristen Agrell made statements and answered questions.


At 4:14 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:18 p.m., the sitting resumed.


C.E.S. Franks made a statement and answered questions.


At 4:58 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 5:04 p.m., the sitting resumed.


Arthur Kroeger made a statement and answered questions.


At 5:48 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Miriam Burke
Clerk of the Committee

2006/06/02 4:52 p.m.