Skip to main content
Start of content

CC2 Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 13
Tuesday, May 30, 2006

The Legislative Committee on Bill C-2 met in a televised session at 8:26 a.m. this day, in Room 253-D, Centre Block, the Chair, David Tilson, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Monique Guay, Hon. Charles Hubbard, Hon. Marlene Jennings, Carole Lavallée, Tom Lukiwski, Pat Martin, James Moore, Rob Moore, Brian Murphy, Hon. Stephen Owen, Daniel Petit, Pierre Poilievre, Benoît Sauvageau, David Sweet, David Tilson and Alan Tonks.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Kristen Douglas, Analyst; Sebastian Spano, Analyst. House of Commons: Wayne Cole, Legislative Clerk.


Witnesses: Democracy Watch: Duff Conacher, Chairperson of the Government Ethics Coalition and the Money in Politics Coalition. As an individual: Henry E. McCandless, General Convenor, Citizens' Circle for Accountability. Office of the Privacy Commissioner of Canada: Jennifer Stoddart, Privacy Commissioner; Patricia Kosseim, General Counsel. Canadian Union of Postal Workers: Deborah Bourque, National President. Canadian Union of Public Employees: Toby Sanger, Economist; Corina Crawley, Senior Research Officer. Confédération des syndicats nationaux: Pierre Patry, Treasurer; Éric Lévesque, Counsel. Association of Canadian Financial Officers: Milt Isaacs, Chair; Jonathan Hood, Vice President; Serge Buy, Strategic Advisor. Certified General Accountants Association of Canada: Carole Presseault, Vice-President, Government and Regulatory Affairs; Rock Lefebvre, Vice-President, Research and Standards.

Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Thursday, April 27, 2006, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-2, An Act providing for conflict of interest rules, restrictions on election financing and measures respecting administrative transparency, oversight and accountability.

Pursuant to Standing Order 75(1), consideration of Clause 1 is postponed.

The Chair calls Clause 2.


Henry McCandless and Duff Conacher made statements and answered questions.


By unanimous consent, it was agreed to extend the period for questioning the witnesses.


At 9:15 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 9:19 a.m., the sitting resumed.


Jennifer Stoddart made a statement and, with Patricia Kosseim, answered questions.


At 9:55 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 10:00 a.m., the sitting resumed.


Deborah Bourque made a statement and answered questions.


Corina Crawley and Toby Sanger made statements and answered questions.


Pierre Patry made a statement and answered questions.


At 10:42 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 10:48 a.m., the sitting resumed.


Milt Issacs made a statement and answered questions.


At 11:24 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 11:31 a.m., the sitting resumed.


Carole Pressault made a statement and, with Rock Lefebvre, answered questions.


At 12:03 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Miriam Burke
Clerk of the Committee

2006-06-06 12:14 p.m.