Skip to main content Start of content

OGGO Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 36
Tuesday, May 10, 2005

The Standing Committee on Government Operations and Estimates met at 3:33 p.m. this day, in Room 308 West Block, the Chair, Leon Benoit, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Leon Benoit, Ken Boshcoff, Marc Godbout, Guy Lauzon, Diane Marleau, Joe Preston, Francis Scarpaleggia, Paul Szabo and Louise Thibault.


Acting Members present: Pierre Poilievre for Randy White.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Philippe Le Goff, Analyst; Tara Gray, Analyst.


Witnesses: Department of Social Development: Donna Achimov, Acting Assistant Deputy Minister, Service Delivery. Department of Human Resources and Skills Development: Maryantonett Flumian, Associate Deputy Minister; Nicole Barbeau, Assistant Deputy Minister, Quebec Region. Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat: Helen McDonald, Chief Information Officer. Department of Human Resources and Skills Development: Charles Nixon, Acting Assistant Deputy Minister, Employment Insurance Operations. Department of Public Works and Government Services: Donna Wood, Director general, Public Access Programs.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(3)(iv) and the motion adopted by the Committee on March 22, 2005, the Committee resumed its study of the Service Canada initiative.

The witnesses made statements and answered questions.


At 4:27 p.m., Paul Szabo took the Chair.


At 4:38 p.m., Leon Benoit took the Chair.


At 5:06 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 5:07 p.m., the sitting resumed in camera.


It was agreed, — That the Committee waive further consideration of the certificate of nomination of Moya Greene and convey its support for her nomination to the position of President of the Canada Post Corporation.


At 5:24 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Miriam Burke
Clerk of the Committee

2005-05-11 3:02 p.m.