Skip to main content

HESA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
1st Session, 38th Parliament   1re Session, 38e législature

Standing Committee on Health   Comité permanent de la santé
Meeting No. 56 Séance no 56
Wednesday, November 23, 2005 Le mercredi 23 novembre 2005
3:30 p.m. to 5:30 p.m. 15 h 30 à 17 h 30
Room 308, West Block   Pièce 308, édifice de l'Ouest
(992-1147)   (992-1147)

Orders of the Day   Ordre du jour
Tobacco issues related to compliance with the Tobacco Act, cigarette smuggling and combating tobacco use Questions liées au tabac y compris le respect de la Loi sur le tabac, la contrebande de cigarettes et la lutte antitabagisme
Witnesses Témoins
Department of Health ministère de la Santé
Denis Choinière, Director
Office of Regulations and Compliance, Tobacco Control Program, Healthy Environments and Consumer Safety Branch
 Denis Choinière, directeur
Bureau de la réglementation et de la conformité, Programme de la lutte au tabagisme, Direction générale de la santé environnementale et de la sécurité des consommateurs
Department of Finance ministère des Finances
David Baar, Tax Policy Officer
Alcohol, tobacco and excise legislation
 David Baar, agent de la politique de l'impôt
Alcool, tabac et législation sur l'accise
Canada Revenue Agency Agence du revenu du Canada
Phil McLester, Director
Excise duties and taxes, Excise and GST/HST Rulings, Policy and Planning Branch
 Phil McLester, directeur
Droits et des taxes d'accise, Accise et des décisions de la TPS/TVH, Politique et législation en direct
Canada Border Services Agency Agence des services frontaliers du Canada
Roger Lavergne, Director
Borders Intelligence Division, Intelligence Directorate
 Roger Lavergne, directeur
Division des renseignements frontaliers, Direction du renseignement
Royal Canadian Mounted Police Gendarmerie royale du Canada
Joe Oliver, Director
Customs and Excise Branch
 Joe Oliver, directeur
Sous-direction des douanes et de l'accise
La greffière du Comité
Carmen DePape ((613) 995-4108)
Clerk of the Committee
2005/11/22 2:32 p.m.   2005/11/22 14 h 32