Skip to main content Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 80
Thursday, September 29, 2005

The Standing Committee on Finance met in a televised session at 9:06 a.m. this day, in Room 269, West Block, the Chair, Massimo Pacetti, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Rona Ambrose, Don H. Bell, Hon. Charles Hubbard, Yvan Loubier, John McKay, Massimo Pacetti, Brian Pallister, Charlie Penson, Monte Solberg and Judy Wasylycia-Leis.


Acting Members present: Robert Bouchard for Guy Côté.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Jean Dupuis, Analyst; Alexandre Laurin, Analyst; Sheena Starky, Analyst. Standing Committee on Finance: Christine Lafrance, Clerk of the Committee.


Witnesses: Canadian Federation of Independent Business: Garth Whyte, Executive Vice-President; André Piché, Director. Centre for the Study of Living Standards: Andrew Sharpe, Executive Director. C.D. Howe Institute: William B.P. Robson, Senior Vice-President and Director of Research. Canadian Council of Chief Executives: David Stewart-Patterson, Executive Vice President; Sam Boutziouvis, Vice President, Policy and Director of Research. Canadian Labour Congress: Hassan Yussuff, Secretary-Treasurer; Andrew Jackson, Senior Economist, Social and Economic Policy; Teresa Healy, Senior Researcher. Confederation of National Trade Unions: Pierre Patry, Treasurer; Normand Brouillet, Assistant, Executive Committee.

Pursuant to Standing Order 83.1, the Committee resumed its pre-budget consultations 2005.

Garth Whyte, Andrew Sharpe, William B. P. Robson and David Stewart-Patterson made statements and, with Sam Boutziouvis, answered questions.


At 11:06 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 11:17 a.m., the sitting resumed.


Hassan Yussuff and Pierre Patry made statements and, with Andrew Jackson, Teresa Healy and Normand Brouillet, answered questions.


At 12:44 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Richard Dupuis
Clerk of the Committee

2005/11/07 4:12 p.m.