Skip to main content Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 28
Thursday, December 2, 2004

The Standing Committee on Finance met in a televised session at 9:07 a.m. this day, in Room 237-C Centre Block, the Chair, Massimo Pacetti, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Rona Ambrose, Don H. Bell, Guy Côté, Charles Hubbard, Yvan Loubier, John McKay, Massimo Pacetti, Brian Pallister and Monte Solberg.


Acting Members present: Joe Comartin for Judy Wasylycia-Leis.


Other Members present: Hon. Denis Paradis.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: June Dewetering, Principal.


Witnesses: Coopérative fédérée de Québec: Pierre Gauvreau, CEO; Denis Richard, President. Canadian Cooperative Association: Jean-Yves Lord, Director General. Agropur, Coopérative Agro-Alimentaire: Serge Riendeau, President. Société coopérative agricole de l'Île aux Grues: Simon Painchaud, President. Alberta Value Chain Cooperative Ltd: Doug Borg, Project Coordinator. Peace Country Tender Beef Co-op: Alberta: Neil Peacock, President. Co-op Atlantic: Harvie John, CEO. Saskatchewan Wheat Pool: Fern Nielsen, Administrator. Agriest, Centre Agricole Coop: Éric Dagenais, Director General. United Farmers of Alberta: Dave Elliott, Treasurer. Conseil canadien de la coopération: Michel Rouleau, Vice-President.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2), the Committee commenced its study on Small Business Tax Measures: The Cooperatives.

It was agreed, — That the Committee adopt the Budget for its study on Small Business Tax Measures: The Cooperatives.


At 9:08 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 9:09 a.m., the sitting resumed.


Jean-Yves Lord, Michel Rouleau, Denis Richard, Fern Nielsen, Dave Elliott, John Harvie, Serge Riendeau, Simon Painchaud, Neil Peacock, Doug Borg, Éric Dagenais and Pierre Gauvreau made statements and answered questions.


At 11:04 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Richard Dupuis
Clerk of the Committee

2005/03/15 12:03 p.m.