Skip to main content Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 23
Tuesday, November 23, 2004

The Standing Committee on Finance met in a televised session at 7:07 p.m. this day, in Room 253-D Centre Block, the Chair, Massimo Pacetti, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Don H. Bell, Guy Côté, Charles Hubbard, John McKay, Maria Minna, Massimo Pacetti, Charlie Penson, Monte Solberg and Judy Wasylycia-Leis.


Acting Members present: Richard Harris for Brian Pallister and Maka Kotto for Yvan Loubier.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: June Dewetering, Principal; Alexandre Laurin, Analyst.


Witnesses: Campaign 2000: Laurel Rothman, National Coordinator. Canadian Association for Community Living: Michael Bach, Executive Vice President, York University; Anna Macquarrie, Policy Analyst, York University. Canadian Association of Food Banks: Charles Seiden, Executive Director. Canada's Association for the Fifty-Plus: Bill Gleberzon, Co-Director, Advocacy and Government Relations; Judy Cutler, Co-Director, Advocacy and Government Relations. Canadian Pensioners Concerned Inc.: Gerda Kaegi, President. Campaign Against Child Poverty: Caroline Di Giovanni, Executive Director, Hope for Children Foundation; Gerald Vandezande, Steering Committee Member. National Housing and Homelessness Network: Michael Shapcott, Co-Chair, National Housing and Homelessness Network. National Council of Welfare: David Welch, Member; Greg deGroot-Maggetti, Member. Canadian Museums Association: Robert Spickler, Associate Director, Canadian Centre for Architecture; John G. McAvity, Executive Director. Canadian Film and Television Production Association: Guy Mayson, President and Chief Executive Officer. Canadian Library Association: Don Butcher, Executive Director; Barbara Clubb, City Librairian, Ottawa. Canadian Conference of the Arts : Jean Malavoy, National Director. Tourism Industry Association of Canada: Randy M. Williams, President and Chief Executive Officer; Wayne St. John, Chairman. Canadian Association of Broadcasters: Glenn O'Farrell, President and Chief Executive Officer. Canadian Association of Research Libraries: Timothy Mark, Executive Director; Paul Wiens, University Librarian, Queen's University. Music in Canada Coalition: Denise Donlon, Member; Grant Dexter, Member.

Pursuant to Standing Order 83.1, the Committee resumed its pre-budget consultations 2004.



Laurel Rothman, Michael Bach, Charles Seiden, Bill Gleberzon, Gerda Kaegi, Caroline Da Giovanni, Michael Shapcott and David Welch made statements, and with, Gerald Vandezande and Greg deGroot-Maggeti answered questions.


At 8:50 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 8:57 p.m., the sitting resumed.




Robert Spickler, John G. McAvity, Guy Mason, Barbara Clubb, Jean Malavoy, Randy M. Williams, WAyn St.JOhn, Glen O'Farrell, Paul Wiens, Denise Donlon and Grant Dexter made statements and answered questions.


At 10:30 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Richard Dupuis
Clerk of the Committee

2005/03/15 11:45 a.m.