Skip to main content Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 21
Tuesday, November 23, 2004

The Standing Committee on Finance met in a televised session at 9:39 a.m. this day, in Room 253-D Centre Block, the Chair, Massimo Pacetti, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Don H. Bell, Guy Côté, Charles Hubbard, Yvan Loubier, Massimo Pacetti, Charlie Penson and Judy Wasylycia-Leis.


Acting Members present: Richard Harris for Monte Solberg.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: June Dewetering, Principal; Alexandre Laurin, Analyst.


Witnesses: Canadian Association of Petroleum Producers: Pierre R. Alvarez, President. Canadian Wind Energy Association: Glen Estill, Past Chairman of the Board; Robert Hornung, President. Canadian Institute of Health Research: Alan Bernstein, President. Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada: Tom Brzustowski, President. Canada Foundation for Innovation: Carmen Charette, Senior Vice-President. Canadian Federation for the Humanities and Social Sciences: Donald Fisher, President Elect. Genome Canada: Martin Godbout, President & CEO. Canadian Electricity Association: Hans R. Konow, President and Chief Executive Officer. Canadian Fertilizer Institute: Roger L. Larson, President. Forest Products Association of Canada: Avrim Lazar, President and Chief Executive Officer. Canadian Consortium for Research: Paul Ledwell, Chair; Don McDiarmid, Member. Genome Canada: Marc LePage, Executive Vice-President, Corporate Affairs. Association of Universities and Colleges of Canada: Peter MacKinnon, Chair , Board of Directors. Canadian Association of Petroleum Producers: Brian Maynard, Vice-President, Public Affairs, Atlantic Canada. Association of Universities and Colleges of Canada: Claire Morris, President and CEO. Mining Association of Canada: Gordon Peeling, President and Chief Executive Officer. Canada Foundation for Innovation: Eliot A. Phillipson, President and Chief Executive Officer. National Research Council Canada: Michael Raymont, Interim President. Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada: Marc Renaud, President. Canadian Federation of Agriculture: Marvin Shauf, Vice-President. Canadian Electricity Association: Eli Turk, Vice President, Government Relations.

Pursuant to Standing Order 83.1, the Committee resumed its pre-budget consultations 2004.



Pierre R. Alvarez, Glen Estill, Avrim Lazar, Gordon Peeling, Marvin Shauf and Roger L. Larson made statements and answered questions.


At 11:09 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 11:19 a.m., the sitting resumed.




Marc Renaud, Dr. Petre MacKinnon, Claire Morris, Eliot A. Phillipson, Dr. Alan Bernstein, Paul Ledwell, Don McDiarmid, Dr. Donald Fisher, Tom Brzutowski, Michael Raymont and Martin Godbout made statements and answered questions.


At 1:00 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Richard Dupuis
Clerk of the Committee

2005/03/15 11:26 a.m.