Skip to main content Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 10
Tuesday, November 2, 2004

The Standing Committee on Finance met in a televised session at 3:36 p.m. this day, in Room 269 West Block, the Chair, Massimo Pacetti, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Rona Ambrose, Don H. Bell, Guy Côté, Yvan Loubier, John McKay, Maria Minna, Massimo Pacetti, Charlie Penson, Monte Solberg and Judy Wasylycia-Leis.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: June Dewetering, Principal; Alexandre Laurin, Analyst.


Witnesses: Congress of Aboriginal Peoples: Patrick Brazeau, Vice-Chief, Governance Legislative Initiative Secretariat. Canadian Centre for Philanthropy: Peter Broder, Acting Vice-President, Public Affairs. Association of Fundraising Professionals: Tad Brown. Canadian Centre for Philanthropy: Georgina Steinsky Schwartz, President & C.E.O.. Native Women's Association of Canada: Terri Brown, President. Canadian Association of Gift Planners: Malcolm Burrows, Chair, Government Relations, Scotia Private Client Group, Executive Office. Voluntary Sector Forum: Jean Christie, Executive Director; Laurie Rektor, Manager, National Issues. Pauktuutit Inuit Women's Association: Jennifer Dickson, Executive Director. Congress of Aboriginal Peoples: Dwight A. Dorey, National Chief. Métis National Council: Kathy Hodgson-Smith, Interim Executive Director; Tony Belcourt, Representative. Assembly of First Nations: Richard Jock, Executive Director . Health Charities Coalition of Canada: Marjolaine Lalonde, Director; David Armour, Steering Committee Member and CEO Canadian Medical Fdn.. Association of Fundraising Professionals: Michael Nilsen, Director , Public Affairs. Pauktuutit Inuit Women's Association: Mary Palliser, President. Community Foundations of Canada: Monica Patten, President and Chief Executive Officer. Philanthropic Foundations Canada: Hilary Pearson, President .

Pursuant to Standing Order 83.1, the Committee resumed its pre-budget consultations 2004.



Georgina Steinsky-Schwartz, Jean Christie, Tad Brown, Hilary Pearson, Monica Patten, Malcolm Burrows, Marjolaine Lalonde made statements, and with Laurie Rektor, answered questions.


At 5:09 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 5:16 p.m., the sitting resumed.




Richard Jock, Robert Walsh, Tony Belcourt, Mary Palliser, Jennifer Dickson and Dwight Dorey made statements and answered questions.


At 6:19 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Richard Dupuis
Clerk of the Committee

2005/03/15 10:49 a.m.