Skip to main content
Start of content

ENVI Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 14
Tuesday, December 14, 2004

The Standing Committee on Environment and Sustainable Development met in a televised session at 8:33 a.m. this day, in Room 237-C Centre Block, the Chair, Alan Tonks, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Bernard Bigras, Nathan Cullen, Brian Jean, David J. McGuinty, Hon. Denis Paradis, Lee Richardson, Christian Simard and Alan Tonks.


Acting Members present: Marc Lemay for Christian Simard and Francis Scarpaleggia for Yasmin Ratansi.


Other Members present: Hon. Larry Bagnell and Hon. Roy Cullen.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Tim Williams, Analyst; Kristen Douglas, Analyst.


Witnesses: Office of the Auditor General of Canada: Johanne Gélinas, Commissioner of the Environment and Sustainable Development; Neil Maxwell, Principal. Department of Finance: Serge Dupont, General Director, Tax Policy Branch; Susan Margles, Director, Economic Development and Corporate Finance.

Pursuant to Standing Order 32(5), the Committee resumed consideration of the Report of the Commissioner of the Environment and Sustainable Development for the year 2004 - Chapter 3, Sustainable Development Strategies: Using the Tax System and Managing Office Solid Waste, referred to the Committee on October 26, 2004.

Susan Margles, Serge Dupont and Johanne Gélinas made an opening statements and, with the other witness, answered questions.


At 10:32 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Eugene Morawski
Clerk of the Committee

2005/03/01 9:45 a.m.