Skip to main content
Start of content

OGGO Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication


Meeting No. 15

Tuesday, March 18, 2003

The Standing Committee on Government Operations and Estimates met at 9:10 a.m. this day, in Room 308, West Block, the Vice-Chair, Tony Valeri, presiding.

Members of the Committee present: Carolyn Bennett, Ken Epp, Paul Forseth, Robert Lanctôt, Judy Sgro, Tony Tirabassi and Tony Valeri.

Acting Members present: Hon. Maria Minna for Reg Alcock; Derek Lee for Roy Cullen; Paul Maklin for Steve Mahoney; Dick Proctor for Pat Martin.

In attendance: From the Library of Parliament:  Jack Stilborn, Analyst.

Witnesses: From the Canadian Labour Market and Labour Productivity Centre (changed to Canadian Labour and Business Centre): Arlene Wortsman, Director, Labour Studies. From the Confederation of National Trade Unions: Lise Poulin, Secretary General; François Lamoureux, Lawyer, Sauvé et Roy (Justice Section CSN); Claude Rioux. As an Individual: Martha Hynna, Former Assistant Deputy Minister (HRDC), Consultant, Hynna Report on Staffing.

Pursuant to its Order of Reference of Thursday, February 20, 2003, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-25, An Act to modernize employment and labour relations in the public service and to amend the Financial Administration Act and the Canadian Centre for Management Development Act and to make consequential amendments to other Acts (See Minutes of Proceedings, Thursday, February 27, 2003, Meeting No. 12).

Pursuant to Standing Order 75(1) consideration of Clause 1 was postponed.

The Chair called Clause 2.

At 9:10 a.m., Judy Sgro took the Chair.

At 9:20 a.m., Tony Valeri took the Chair.

Arlene Wortsman, Lise Poulin and Martha Hynna, each made an opening statement, and with François Lamoureux and Claude Rioux, answered questions.

On Motion of Ken Epp, it was agreed, - That the Office of the Information Commissioner be required to provide to the Committee any and all information required by the Committee to justify the new appropriation in the Supplementary Estimates (B) in the amount of $311,000.

At 11:10 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Miriam Burke

Clerk of the Committee