Skip to main content
Start of content

AGRI Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication


Meeting No. 22

Thursday, March 27, 2003

The Standing Committee on Agriculture and Agri-Food met at 11:13 a.m. this day, in Room 253-D, Centre Block, the Chair, Paul Steckle, presiding.

Members of the Committee present: David L. Anderson, Claude Duplain, Marcel Gagnon, Howard Hilstrom, Rick Laliberte, Louis Plamondon, Paul Steckle and Rose-Marie Ur.

Acting Members present: Massimo Pacetti for Bob Speller; Alan Tonks for John Maloney.

In attendance: From the Library of Parliament: Frédéric Forge, analyst; Jean-Denis Fréchette, analyst.

Witnesses: From the "Union des producteurs agricoles du Québec": Laurent Pellerin, President; Gilbert Lavoie, Economist, Research and Agricultural Policy Branch. From the Ontario Corn Producers' Association: Mat Menich, President; Don McCabe, Director; Brian Doidge, Economist and Market Analyst. From the Western Barley Growers Association: Douglas McBain, President; Ed Armstrong, Director.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2), the Committee resumed consideration of the Agricultural Policy Framework.

Laurent Pellerin, Don McCabe, Brian Doidge, Ed Armstrong and Douglas McBain made opening statements and answered questions.

It was agreed, - That the Committee send a letter to the Minister of Canadian Heritage regarding the occurrence of tuberculosis in the elk and deer herds in Riding Mountain National Park, Manitoba.

At 1:00 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.



Bibiane Ouellette

Clerk of the Committee