Skip to main content
Start of content

AGRI Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication


Meeting No. 20

Thursday, March 20, 2003

The Standing Committee on Agriculture and Agri-Food met at 8:05 a.m. this day, in Room 209, West Block, the Chair, Paul Steckle, presiding.

Members of the Committee present: Gérard Binet, Rick Borotsik, Garry Breitkreuz, Claude Duplain, Mark Eyking, Marcel Gagnon, Howard Hilstrom, Louis Plamondon, Bob Speller, Paul Steckle and Rose-Marie Ur.

Acting Members present: Ovid Jackson for Larry McCormick; Lorne Nystrom for Dick Proctor; Carol Skelton for David L. Anderson.

In attendance: From the Library of Parliament: Jean-Denis Fréchette, Analyst.

Appearing: From the House of Commons: Hon. Lyle Vanclief, Minister of Agriculture and Agri-Food.

Witnesses: From the Department of Agriculture and Agri-Food: Samy Watson, Deputy Minister; Bruce Deacon, Assistant Deputy Minister, Corporate Management Branch. From the Canadian Food Inspection Agency: Dick Fadden, President.

Pursuant to Standing Order 81(5), the Committee considered Supplementary Estimates (B) 2002-2003 - Votes 1b, 10b, 30b and 40b under Agriculture and Agri-Food referred to the Committee on Wednesday, February 26, 2003 and pursuant to Standing Order 108(2), the Committee resumed consideration of the Agricultural Policy Framework.

The Minister made an opening statement and answered questions.

At 10:00 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 10:05 a.m., the Committee proceeded to sit in camera.

At 10:10 a.m., the Committee proceeded to sit in public.

Mr. Hilstrom moved, - That this Committee formally request that the Minister of Agriculture delay the implementation of the Business Risk Management pillar of the Agriculture Policy Framework for one year.

After debate, the question was put on the motion and it was negatived on the following recorded division.

Yeas: Rick Borotsik, Garry Breitkreuz, Marcel Gagnon, Howard Hilstrom and Carol Skelton – 5

Nays: Gérard Binet, Claude Duplain, Mark Eyking, Ovid Jackson, Bob Speller and Rose-Marie Ur - 6

At 10:15 a.m, the Committee resumed sitting in camera

It was agreed, - That a letter be sent to the Minister regarding the Agriculture Policy Framework.

At 10:35 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Bibiane Ouellette

Clerk of the Committee