Skip to main content
Start of content

AGRI Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication


Meeting No. 10

Tuesday, December 10, 2002

The Standing Committee on Agriculture and Agri-Food met at 4:02 p.m. this day, in Room 209, West Block, the Chair, Charles Hubbard, presiding.

Members of the Committee present: David L. Anderson, Rick Borotsik, Murray Calder, Mark Eyking, Charles Hubbard, Rick Laliberte, Larry McCormick, Dick Proctor, Bob Speller, Paul Steckle and Rose-Marie Ur.

In attendance: From the Library of Parliament: Jean-Denis Fréchette, Principal.

Witnesses: From the Pest Management Regulatory Agency: Claire Franklin, Executive Director; Imme Gerke, Minor Use Advisor. From the Department of Agriculture and Agri-Food: Mary Komarynsky, Director General, Adaptation & Financial Guarantee Programs, Farm Financial Programs Branch; Yvon Martel, Chief Scientist, Research Planning and Coordination.

Pursuant to the Standing Order 108(2), the Committee resumed its consideration of the Government Response to the Third Report of the Committee (Registration of Pesticides and the Competitiveness of Canadian Farmers) of the 1st Session, 37th Parliament.

Claire Franklin and Imme Gerke from the Pest Management Regulatory Agency and Mary Komarynsky from the Department of Agriculture and Agri-Food made opening statements and, with the other witness, answered questions.

At 5:22 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.



Bibiane Ouellette
Clerk of the Committee