Skip to main content
Start of content

HERI Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication


Meeting No. 14

Tuesday, June 5, 2001

The Standing Committee on Canadian Heritage met at 9:05 a.m. this day, in Room 371, West Block, the Chair, Clifford Lincoln, presiding.

Members of the Committee present: Sarmite Bulte, Rodger Cuzner, Christiane Gagnon, Cheryl Gallant, John Harvard, André Harvey, Loyola Hearn, Clifford Lincoln, Dennis Mills.

Acting Members present: Joe Comuzzi for Paul Bonwick; Joe Comartin for Wendy Lill; Dave Chatters for Jim Abbott; Andy Burton for Gurmant Grewal.

In attendance: From the Parliamentary Research Branch of the Library of Parliament: Joe Jackson and Mollie Dunsmuir, Research Officers.

Witnesses: From the Canadian Aquaculture Industry Alliance: David Rideout, President. From the Canadian Parks and Wilderness Society: Sabine Jessen, Conservation Director, B.C. Chapter. From the Lake Superior Regional Committee: David Tremblay, Chair; Kal Pristanski, Member. From the "Alliance des pêcheurs professionnels du Québec": Serge Langelier, Biologist, "Regroupement des pêcheurs Côte-Nord". From the Canadian Association of Petroleum Producers: Paul Barnes, Manager, East Coast.

Pursuant to its Order of Reference of Thursday, May 10, 2001, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-10, An Act respecting the national marine conservation areas of Canada (See Minutes of Proceedings, Thursday, May 31, 2001, Meeting No. 13).

On motion of Dennis Mills, it was agreed,- That Whereas the Canadian government has welcomed the announcement by His Holiness John Paul II that Toronto is to host the 17th_World Youth Day in July 2002;

Whereas World Youth Day 2002 will bring together close to one million youth from all across Canada and from over 150 countries for ten days, it will foster Canadian identity and promote Canadian values;

Whereas the 1991 Broadcasting Act states that the programming of the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation will: "vi.contribute to shared national consciousness and identity"

Whereas the CBC has a singular responsibility and a unique capacity to build mutual understanding among Canadians;

Whereas the CBC’s mission is to provide Canadians with relevant news and information, support and contribute to Canada’s rich cultural capital, and build bridges between communities and regions;

We, the members of the Committee, unanimously support World Youth Day 2002 and urge that the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation consider the coverage of this event a priority project.

The Committee resumed consideration of Clause 2.

The witnesses made opening statements and answered questions.

At 10:34 a.m., André Harvey took the Chair.

At 10:43 a.m., Clifford Lincoln resumed the Chair.

The witnesses answered questions.

At 11:05 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Christine Fisher

Clerk of the Committee