Skip to main content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication


Meeting No. 47

Thursday, October 4, 2001

The Standing Committee on Finance met in a televised session at 3:32 p.m. this day, in Room 253-D, Centre Block, the Chair, Maurizio Bevilacqua, presiding.

Members of the Committee present: Sue Barnes, Carolyn Bennett, Maurizio Bevilacqua, Scott Brison, Roy Cullen, Ken Epp, Albina Guarnieri, Rahim Jaffer, Sophia Leung, John McCallum, Shawn Murphy, Lorne Nystrom.

Acting Members present: Larry Bagnell for Gary Pilliteri, Gilles Perron for Pauline Picard, Walt Lastewka for Nick Discepola.

In attendance: From the Research Branch of the Library of Parliament: Marc-André Pigeon, Researcher; Marion Wrobel, Senior Analyst.

Witness: From Customs Excise Union: Serge Charette, National President.

Pursuant to its Order of Reference of Wednesday, September 26, 2001, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill S-23, An Act to amend the Customs Act and to make related amendments to other Acts (See Minutes of Proceedings, Wednesday, October 3, 2001, Meeting No. 44).

Serge Charette made a statement and answered questions.

At 4:32 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Marc Toupin
Clerk of the Committee