Skip to main content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication


Meeting No. 28

Wednesday, May 30, 2001

The Standing Committee on Finance met in a televised session at 3:34 p.m. this day, in Room 253-D, Centre Block, the Chair, Maurizio Bevilacqua, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Sue Barnes, Maurizio Bevilacqua, Scott Brison, Ken Epp, Roger Gallaway, Albina Guarnieri, Jason Kenney, Sophia Leung, Lorne Nystrom, Joe Peschisolido and Gary Pillitteri.


Acting Member present: Pierre Brien for Yvan Loubier.

Other Member present: Paul Macklin.

In attendance: From the Library of Parliament: Marc-André Pigeon, Researcher.

Witnesses: From Aerospace Industries Association of Canada: Peter Smith, President and Chief Executive Officer. From Alliance Atlantis Communications Inc.: Michael MacMillan, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer. From Canadian Chamber of Commerce (The): Nancy Hughes Anthony, President and Chief Executive Officer; Michael N. Murphy, Senior Vice-President, Policy. From Canadian Federation of Independent Business: Catherine Swift, President & Chief Executive Officer; Garth Whyte, Senior Vice-President, National Affairs. From Canadian Manufacturers and Exporters: Jayson Myers, Senior Vice-President and Chief Economist. From Hudson's Bay Company: George Heller, President and CEO; Rob Moore, Vice-President, Corporate Communication. From Rogers Communications Inc.: David Watt, Vice President, Business Economics. From Canadian Pacific Railway: Malcolm Cairns, Director of Business Research.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2), the Committee proceeded to hear Canadian Business Leaders on the state of the Canadian economy.

Jason Myers, Catherine Swift, Peter Smith, Nancy Hughes-Anthony, Michael MacMillan, George Heller, David Watt and Malcolm Cairns made statements and, with the other witnesses, answered questions.

At 6:06 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Pat Steenberg

Clerk of the Committee