Skip to main content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication


Meeting No. 22

Thursday, May 10, 2001

The Standing Committee on Finance met in a televised session at 9:12 a.m. this day, in Room 237-C, Centre Block, the Chair, Maurizio Bevilacqua, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Sue Barnes, Carolyn Bennett, Maurizio Bevilacqua, Scott Brison, Roy Cullen, Ken Epp, Roger Gallaway, Sophia Leung, Yvan Loubier, John McCallum and Gary Pillitteri.


Associate Members present:  Monte Solberg

In attendance: From the Library of Parliament: Blayne Haggart and Marc-André Pigeon, Researchers; Marion Wrobel, Senior Analyst.

Witnesses: As Individual: Herbert Grubel, Professor Emeritus, Department of Economics, Simon Fraser University; Thomas A. Wilson, Director, Policy and Economic Analysis Program, University of Toronto; Thomas J. Courchene, Economist, Department of Law, Queen's University; David Robinson, Director of Public Policy and Communications, Canadian Association & University Teachers; Mario Fortin, Professor of Economics, University of Sherbrooke.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2), the Committee proceeded to consider the state of the Canadian economy.


Tom Courchene, Herbert Grubel, Tom Wilson, Mario Fortin and David Robinson made statements and answered questions.

At 11:43 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Pat Steenberg

Clerk of the Committee