Skip to main content Start of content

TRAN Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication


Meeting No. 27

Tuesday, November 23, 1999

The Standing Committee on Transport met in a televised session at 6:43 p.m. this day, in Room 253-D, Centre Block, the Chair, Stan Keyes, presiding.

Members of the Committee present: Roy Bailey, Murray Calder, Bill Casey, Joe Comuzzi, Bev Desjarlais, Stan Dromisky, Joe Fontana, Michel Guimond, Charles Hubbard, Ovid Jackson, Dale Johnston, Stan Keyes, Val Meredith, Lou Sekora.

Acting Member present: Nick Discepola for Claude Drouin.

Other Member present: John Solomon.

In attendance: From the Research Branch of the Library of Parliament: John Christopher; June Dewetering, Researchers.

Witnesses: From the Canadian Airlines Ltd.: Kevin Benson, President and Chief Executive Officer; Stephen Markey, Senior Vice-President, Corporate and Government Affairs. From the Air Canada: Robert A. Milton, President and Chief Executive Officer; Douglas D. Port, Senior Vice President, Corporate Affairs and Government Relations; John Baker, Vice-President and General Counsel; M. Rob Peterson, Senior Vice-President, Finance and Chief Financial Officer.

 Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2), the Committee resumed consideration of its study on the future of the airline industry in Canada.

Kevin Benson made an opening statement and, with Stephen Markey, answered questions.

At 7:58 p.m., by unanimous consent, the sitting was suspended.

At 8:05 p.m., by unanimous consent, the sitting resumed.

Robert A. Milton made an opening statement and, with Douglas D. Port, Rob Peterson and John Baker, answered questions.

At 9:41 p.m., by unanimous consent, the sitting was suspended.

At 9:42 p.m., by unanimous consent, the sitting was resumed.

At 9:43 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Guyanne L. Desforges

Clerk of the Committee