Skip to main content

ENVI Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication


Meeting No. 17

Tuesday, December 14, 1999

The Standing Committee on Environment and Sustainable Development met in camera at 4:22 p.m. this day, in Room 112-N, Centre Block, the Chair, Charles L. Caccia, presiding.

Members of the Committee present: Charles L. Caccia, Marlene Catterall, Jocelyne Girard-Bujold, John Herron, Rahim Jaffer, Karen Kraft Sloan, Walt Lastewka, Peter Mancini, Paddy Torsney.

Acting Member present: Aileen Carroll for Nick Discepola.

Associate Member present: Clifford Lincoln.

Other Member present: Carolyn Parrish.

In attendance: From the Library of Parliament: Monique Hébert, Christine Labelle and Linda Webster, Research Officers.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108 (2), the Committee resumed its study on the management and use of pesticides in Canada including an evaluation of the performance of the Pest Management Regulatory Agency in preventing pollution and in protecting the environment and human health (See Minutes of Proceedings, Tuesday, October 26,1999 (Meeting no. 1)).

The Committee considered a draft report.

The Committee considered its future business.

It was agreed, - That pursuant to Standing Order 108(2), the Minister of the Environment be called prior to March 31, 2000, to appear in relation to a study of the Performance Report of Environment Canada for the period ending March 31, 1999, and other matters pertaining to his Department.

At 5:07 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.





Stephen Knowles
Clerk of the Committee