Skip to main content

ENVI Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication


Meeting No. 16

Tuesday, December 14, 1999

The Standing Committee on Environment and Sustainable Development met in a televised session at 9:07 a.m. this day, in Room 253-D, Centre Block, the Chair, Charles L. Caccia, presiding.

Members of the Committee present: Charles L. Caccia, Marlene Catterall, Jocelyne Girard-Bujold, Gurmant Grewal, John Herron, Joe Jordan, Karen Kraft Sloan, Peter Mancini, David Pratt, Julian Reed, Paddy Torsney.

Acting Members present: Claude Bachand for Jean-Guy Chrétien, Guy St-Julien for Nick Discepola, Ken Epp for Rahim Jaffer and Clifford Lincoln for Walt Lastewka.

Associate Member present: Aileen Carroll.

In attendance: From the Library of Parliament: Monique Hébert and Linda Webster, Research Officers

Witnesses: From the Department of Indian and Northern Affairs Canada: James R. Moore, Assistant Deputy Minister, Northern Affairs Program; David Stone, Director, Northern Science and Contaminants Research Directorate. From the Inuit Circumpolar Conference: Terry Fenge, Research Director; Stephanie Meakin, Technical Advisor. From Cantox Inc.: Dr. Earle Nestmann, Principal. From the International Institute of Concern for Public Health: Dr. Rosalie Bertell, President.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108 (2), the Committee resumed its study on the management and use of pesticides in Canada including an evaluation of the performance of the Pest Management Regulatory Agency in preventing pollution and in protecting the environment and human health (See Minutes of Proceedings, Tuesday, October 26,1999 (Meeting no. 1)).

James R. Moore, David Stone, Terry Fenge and Stephanie Meakin made statements and answered questions.

John Herron moved - That for its study on pesticides, the Committee call the Minister and Deputy Minister of Health as witnesses.

The question was put on the motion and it was concurred in.

At 10:26 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 11:31 a.m., the sitting resumed.

Dr. Earle Nestmann and Dr. Rosalie Bertell made statements and answered questions.

At 12:44 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.





Stephen Knowles
Clerk of the Committee