Skip to main content Start of content

Print format

The House Administration

The House Administration Organization Chart

[text version]

Board of Internal Economy

Under the Parliament of Canada Act, the Board of Internal Economy governs the House Administration. It is responsible for all matters of financial and administrative policy that affect the House and its Members, premises, services and employees. It has the legal authority to make by-laws (which are tabled in the House) and to regulate the use of resources available to the House of Commons.

The Speaker of the House chairs the Board of Internal Economy, which is made up of Members from all recognized political parties. It meets on a regular basis, and minutes of those meetings are tabled in the House. To learn more about the Board of Internal Economy and the documents made available to the public, please visit the Parliament of Canada Web site at

The Board membership as of March 31, 2012, was as follows: Hon. Andrew Scheer, M.P., Speaker of the House of Commons and Chair of the Board; Ms. Chris Charlton, M.P., Chief Opposition Whip; Mr. Joe Comartin, M.P., House Leader of the Official Opposition; Ms. Judy Foote, M.P., Whip of the Liberal Party; Hon. Rob Merrifield, M.P. (CPC); Hon. Gordon O’Connor, M.P., Minister of State and Chief Government Whip; Hon. Peter Van Loan, M.P., Leader of the Government in the House of Commons. The Clerk of the House of Commons, Ms. Audrey O’Brien, is Secretary to the Board.

Clerk’s Management Group

The Clerk’s Management Group (CMG) is an executive governing body representing all services of the House of Commons. It assists the Clerk on matters regarding the administration of the House of Commons.

Chaired by the Clerk and composed of the heads of the House Administration’s six service areas, the CMG is responsible for:

  • setting strategic directions, priorities and expected results for the House Administration;
  • ensuring the House Administration has the financial and human resources necessary to carry out its mandate;
  • reviewing all policies pertaining to the House Administration; and
  • ensuring the House Administration complies with approved policies and directives.