Skip to main content
Start of content
Start of content

e-4853 (Justice)

Initiated by Kenny Trenton from Edmonton, Alberta

Original language of petition: English

Petition to the Minister of Public Safety, Democratic Institutions and Intergovernmental Affairs

    We, the undersigned, the Otipemisiwak Métis Government and the citizens and residents of Canada, call upon the Minister of Public Safety, Democratic Institutions and Intergovernmental Affairs to work with the Minister of Justice and Attorney General of Canada to prioritize the voices and experiences of Indigenous victims, ensuring that decisions impacting victims and their families, such as granting unescorted temporary absences, are made with an understanding of their significant effects on the community's core sense of justice and security.
    To achieve this goal, the Otipemisiwak Métis Government calls upon the ministers to introduce or reform legislation, regulation, and policy governing the Parole Board of Canada with respect to the following:
    1. In accordance with the Truth and Reconciliation Commission’s Call to Action #57, we ask the ministers to implement cultural safety training and culturally responsive measures as required education for all Parole Board of Canada board members;
    2. Whereas Indigenous peoples are overrepresented among victims of violence in Canada and pursuant to Article 21 of UNDRIP, we ask the ministers to reform Policy 2.1 (Conditional Release Decision-Making) of the Decision-Making Policy Manual for Board Members such that specific consideration is given to systemic and cultural factors when reviewing a case where the victim is Indigenous or Black;
    3. Where the victim of an offence is Indigenous and the circumstances of the case suggest the Indigeneity of the victim may have been a factor in the offence, we ask the ministers to allow the victim’s community to participate in Parole Board of Canada hearings, by way of victim impact statement or otherwise”.
    Open for signature
    May 23, 2024, at 3:40 p.m. (EDT)
    Closed for signature
    September 20, 2024, at 3:40 p.m. (EDT)
    Photo - Blake Desjarlais
    Edmonton Griesbach
    New Democratic Party Caucus