Skip to main content
Start of content
Start of content

e-3928 (Foreign affairs)

Initiated by Yuliia Krupska from Kamloops, British Columbia

Original language of petition: English

Petition to the Government of Canada

  • Russia has declared war on Ukraine and is indiscriminately bombing civilians and targeting Ukrainian cities with rockets;
  • The Ukrainian Armed Forces and the Ukrainian people are courageously defending their homeland from Russia’s brutal and unprovoked attack;
  • Canada is home to 1.4 million citizens of Ukrainian descent and has a deep and unflinching commitment to the people of Ukraine, such as being the first country to recognize their independence in 1991; and
  • It is imperative that in this time of existential threat for Ukraine, we all speak out publicly against the ongoing Russian atrocities.
We, the undersigned, citizens and residents of Canada, call upon the Government of Canada to:
1. Provide additional anti-aircraft, anti-rocket and naval weapons systems to Ukraine immediately;
2. Impose a full trade embargo on Russia;
3. Continue to remove Russian banks from the SWIFT International Payments System;
4. Enact further economic sanctions as deemed feasible and desirable;
5. Recall Canadian embassy staff from Russia and Belarus, and expulse Russian diplomats from Canada;
6. Freeze the Canadian assets of Russian oligarchs;
7. Expedite a program of resettlement for Ukrainian refugees;
8. Support Russians who openly oppose the conflict, up to and including potential refugee status;
9. Utilize logistical resources of the Canadian Government in addition to allowing civilian aircraft to be chartered to transport Ukrainian children and women fleeing the war in eastern Europe to Canada; and
10. Advise the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission (CRTC) to exercise its authority and quickly ensure that RT is removed from Canadian media in order to discourage Russian propaganda.
Open for signature
March 23, 2022, at 10:47 a.m. (EDT)
Closed for signature
April 22, 2022, at 10:47 a.m. (EDT)
Photo - Frank Caputo
Conservative Caucus
British Columbia