Skip to main content
Start of content
Start of content

e-3466 (Indigenous affairs)

Initiated by Allyson Ion from Waterford, Ontario

Original language of petition: English

Petition to the Government of Canada

  • The Iroquois Confederacy was founded August 18, 909, and has remained a governing body to the present day as the Haudenosaunee Confederacy Chiefs Council (HCCC);
  • Between 1927-1951, Indian Act amendments made it illegal for First Nations people to hire lawyers and bring forward land claims without the government’s consent;
  • Colonial provincial and federal court systems remain largely biased against First Nations communities and do not hold jurisdiction over First Nations land rights;
  • In 2006, the Government of Canada acknowledged the HCCC as lead negotiators for Six Nations territory to resolve the Douglas Creek Estates land reclamation (known as Kanonhstaton), thus setting precedent for the current efforts at 1492 LandBack Lane;
  • 1492 LandBack Lane is part of the Haldimand Tract that Governor Haldimand granted in 1784 for the Haudenosaunee and their progeny to enjoy forever thereby making the Haudenosaunee the true title holders of this land;
  • In April 2021, the HCCC put in place a moratorium on development in the Haldimand Tract indicating that no development can proceed along the Tract without the Haudenosaunee peoples' consent;
  • This moratorium builds on the HCCC’s 2006 Land Rights Statement to end Haldimand Tract land and resource exploitation; and
  • Developers have profited from government bail outs on unceded lands (e.g. $15.8 million to Henco Industries in 2006).
We, the undersigned, citizens of Canada and residents throughout Turtle Island, call upon the Government of Canada to:
1. Uphold the established Treaty relationship with the Haudenosaunee of the Grand River Territory;
2. Honour the moratorium put in place by the HCCC; and
3. End the practice of paying out developers who do not honour the moratorium.
Open for signature
June 1, 2021, at 10:31 a.m. (EDT)
Closed for signature
July 31, 2021, at 10:31 a.m. (EDT)
Photo - Matthew Green
Hamilton Centre
New Democratic Party Caucus