Skip to main content
Start of content
Start of content

e-1601 (Navigable waters)

Initiated by Marilyn Slett from Waglisla, British Columbia

Original language of petition: English

Petition to the House of Commons

  • The ecosystems, economy and culture of communities and Indigenous Nations along the Pacific north coast and Haida Gwaii are inextricably tied to the health of the oceans;
  • For almost 50 years residents have told the federal government that these coastal waters are no place for oil tankers because of the inherent navigation risks and the unacceptable consequences of a catastrophic oil spill;
  • The nine members of Coastal First Nations uphold a ban on crude oil tankers in their territories, which include north coast waters, and along with other First Nations and the Union of BC Indian Chiefs they have called for federal legislation to ban oil tankers in the region;
  • The Union of BC Municipalities has passed a resolution urging the federal government to legislate an oil tanker ban on the north coast, and local governments in the north coast region have supported the proposed oil tanker prohibition in Bill C-48 (the Oil Tanker Moratorium Act), including the City of Prince Rupert, the District of Kitimat and the Skeena-Queen Charlotte Regional District; and
  • It is time to permanently protect these coastal waters from the risk of oil tankers.
We, the undersigned, members of Indigenous Nations, residents of British Columbia and supporting citizens of Canada, call upon the House of Commons to enact a legislated ban on oil tankers in coastal waters including Hecate Strait, Dixon Entrance and Queen Charlotte Sound.
Government response tabled on November 19, 2018 (Sessional Paper No. 8545-421-101-28)
Open for signature
March 27, 2018, at 5:11 p.m. (EDT)
Closed for signature
July 25, 2018, at 5:11 p.m. (EDT)
Presented to the House of Commons
Nathan Cullen (Skeena—Bulkley Valley)
October 5, 2018 (Petition No. 421-02722)
Government response tabled
November 19, 2018
Photo - Nathan Cullen
Skeena—Bulkley Valley
New Democratic Party Caucus
British Columbia