House of Commons Procedure and Practice
Edited by Robert Marleau and Camille Montpetit
2000 EditionMore information …
Previous PageNext Page

8. The Parliamentary Cycle


Several recurring terms and phrases associated with the parliamentary cycle require explanation for the purpose of clarity.

A Parliament is a period of time, during which the institution of Parliament (comprising the Sovereign, the Senate and the House of Commons) exercises its powers. The process of starting a Parliament begins with the proclamation of the Governor General calling for the formation of a new Parliament and setting the date for a general election. A Parliament ends with its dissolution. A House of Commons has a constitutionally determined maximum lifespan of five years. [6] 
A session is one of the fundamental time periods into which a Parliament is divided, and usually consists of a number of separate sittings. A session begins with a Speech from the Throne when Parliament is summoned by proclamation of the Governor General; it ends with a prorogation or dissolution of Parliament. There may be any number of sessions in a Parliament; the numbers have ranged from one to seven. [7] There is no set length for a session.
A sitting is a meeting of the House within a session. The Standing Orders provide times and days for the sittings of the House. [8]  A sitting is not necessarily synonymous with a “day”. Some sittings are very brief; some have extended over more than one calendar day. [9] 
An adjournment is the termination of a sitting (pursuant to Standing or Special Order, or by motion). An adjournment covers the period between the end of one sitting and the beginning of the next. It can be of varying duration — a few hours, overnight, over a weekend, a week or longer. [10]  While prorogation and dissolution are prerogative acts of the Crown, the power to adjourn rests solely with the House.
Parliamentary Calendar
The parliamentary calendar, as laid out in the Standing Orders, provides a fixed timetable of sittings and adjournments for a full calendar year. [11]  In effect, once a session begins, the calendar alternates sitting periods with adjournments at set points throughout the year. Each year consists of seven sitting periods of approximately three to five weeks in length, and seven adjournments of varying lengths.
Prorogation of Parliament is the ending of a session, with a special ceremony held in the Senate Chamber or with the issuance of a Governor General’s proclamation to that effect. Prorogation also refers to the period of time a Parliament stands prorogued.
The time between the ending of one session and the opening of the next can be called a recess. In practice, the term “recess” is also used in reference to a lengthy adjournment.
Dissolution is the formal ending of a Parliament by proclamation of the Governor General. This has always occurred prior to the five-year time limit set by the Constitution for the expiration of the House of Commons by effluxion of time. Dissolution is followed by a general election.

Top of documentPrevious PageNext Page