Skip to main content
Start of content

SECU Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 60
Thursday, March 26, 2015

The Standing Committee on Public Safety and National Security met in a televised session at 8:44 a.m. this day, in Room 237-C, Centre Block, the Chair, Daryl Kramp, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Hon. Diane Ablonczy, Rosane Doré Lefebvre, Hon. Wayne Easter, Ted Falk, Randall Garrison, Roxanne James, Daryl Kramp, Rick Norlock, LaVar Payne and Jean Rousseau.


Acting Members present: Adam Vaughan for Hon. Wayne Easter.


Associate Members present: Charmaine Borg.


Other Members present: Elizabeth May.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Tanya Dupuis, Analyst; Christine Morris, Analyst.


Witnesses: As individuals: Ray Boisvert, President and Chief Executive Officer, I-Sec Integrated Strategies; Zarqa Nawaz, Author; David B. Harris, Director, International Intelligence Program, INSIGNIS Strategic Research. Canadian Muslim Lawyers Association: Ziyaad Mia, Member, Legal Advocacy Committee; Mueed Peerbhoy, Vice-Chair, Legal Advocacy Committee. Heritage Foundation: Steven Bucci, Director, Allison Center for Foreign and National Security Policy; David Inserra, Lead, Homeland Security Policy and North America. Centre for Israel and Jewish Affairs: David Cape, Chair; Shimon Fogel, Chief Executive Officer.

Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Monday, February 23, 2015, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-51, An Act to enact the Security of Canada Information Sharing Act and the Secure Air Travel Act, to amend the Criminal Code, the Canadian Security Intelligence Service Act and the Immigration and Refugee Protection Act and to make related and consequential amendments to other Acts.

David Harris, Zarqa Nawaz and Ray Boisvert made statements and answered questions.


At 9:47 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 9:50 a.m., the sitting resumed.


Steven Bucci, David Inserra, David Cape and Ziyaad Mia made statements and, with the other witnesses, answered questions.


At 10:45 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Andrew Lauzon
Committee Clerk

2015/04/24 8:20 a.m.