Skip to main content
Start of content

SECU Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 56
Monday, March 23, 2015

The Standing Committee on Public Safety and National Security met in a televised session at 6:53 p.m. this day, in Room 237-C, Centre Block, the Chair, Daryl Kramp, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Hon. Diane Ablonczy, Rosane Doré Lefebvre, Hon. Wayne Easter, Ted Falk, Randall Garrison, Roxanne James, Daryl Kramp, Rick Norlock and LaVar Payne.


Acting Members present: Charmaine Borg for Jean Rousseau and Craig Scott for Jean Rousseau.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Tanya Dupuis, Analyst; Christine Morris, Analyst.


Witnesses: As an individual: Salim Mansur. Protect Our Privacy Coalition: Stephen Anderson, Executive Director, OpenMedia; Sukanya Pillay, Executive Director and General Counsel, Canadian Civil Liberties Association; Connie Fournier, Founder, Free Dominion. As individuals: Garth Davies, Associate Professor, Simon Fraser University; Hon. Hugh Segal, Master, Massey College; Louise Vincent; Christian Leuprecht, Associate Dean and Associate Professor, Faculty of Arts, Royal Military College of Canada.

Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Monday, February 23, 2015, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-51, An Act to enact the Security of Canada Information Sharing Act and the Secure Air Travel Act, to amend the Criminal Code, the Canadian Security Intelligence Service Act and the Immigration and Refugee Protection Act and to make related and consequential amendments to other Acts.

Salim Mansur, Garth Davies, Stephen Anderson and Sukanya Pillay made statements and, with Connie Fournier, answered questions.


It was agreed, — That a petition, presented by Stephen Anderson of the Protect our Privacy Coalition, be filed as an exhibit.


At 7:52 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 7:57 p.m., the sitting resumed.


Hon. Hugh Segal, Louise Vincent and Christian Leuprecht made statements and answered questions.


At 8:57 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Leif-Erik Aune
Clerk of the Committee

2015/04/24 8:18 a.m.