Skip to main content
Start of content

SECU Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 55
Thursday, March 12, 2015

The Standing Committee on Public Safety and National Security met in a televised session at 6:30 p.m. this day, in Room C-110, 1 Wellington Street, the Chair, Daryl Kramp, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Hon. Diane Ablonczy, Rosane Doré Lefebvre, Hon. Wayne Easter, Ted Falk, Randall Garrison, Roxanne James, Daryl Kramp, Rick Norlock and LaVar Payne.


Acting Members present: Craig Scott for Jean Rousseau.


Other Members present: Elizabeth May.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Tanya Dupuis, Analyst; Christine Morris, Analyst.


Witnesses: National Airlines Council of Canada: Marc-André O'Rourke, Executive Director. As individuals: Craig Forcese, Associate Professor, Faculty of Law, University of Ottawa; Kent Roach, Professor, Faculty of Law, University of Toronto. National Council of Canadian Muslims: Ihsaan Gardee, Executive Director. Amnesty International: Alex Neve, Secretary General, Amnesty International Canada. As an individual: Elliot Tepper, Professor, Carleton University.

Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Monday, February 23, 2015, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-51, An Act to enact the Security of Canada Information Sharing Act and the Secure Air Travel Act, to amend the Criminal Code, the Canadian Security Intelligence Service Act and the Immigration and Refugee Protection Act and to make related and consequential amendments to other Acts.

Marc-André O'Rourke, Craig Forcese and Kent Roach, by videoconference from Clearwater, Florida, made statements and answered questions.


At 7:29 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 7:35 p.m., the sitting resumed.


Ihsaan Gardee, Alex Neve and Elliot Tepper made statements and answered questions.


At 8:32 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Leif-Erik Aune
Clerk of the Committee

2015/03/13 2:20 p.m.