Skip to main content
Start of content

RNNR Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 8
Monday, December 2, 2013

The Standing Committee on Natural Resources met at 3:31 p.m. this day, in Room 268, La Promenade Building, the Chair, Leon Benoit, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Mike Allen, Leon Benoit, Kelly Block, Joan Crockatt, Linda Duncan, Claude Gravelle, Peter Julian, Ryan Leef, Christine Moore, Hon. Geoff Regan and Brad Trost.


Acting Members present: Ryan Cleary for Peter Julian, Robert Goguen for Bob Zimmer and Russ Hiebert for Bob Zimmer.


In attendance: House of Commons: David-Andrés Novoa, Legislative Clerk. Library of Parliament: Penny Becklumb, Analyst; Milana Simikian, Analyst.


Witnesses: Department of Natural Resources: Jeff Labonté, Director General, Energy Safety and Security Branch, Energy Sector; Samuel Millar, Senior Director, Frontier Lands Management Division, Petroleum Resources Branch, Energy Sector; Anne-Marie Fortin, Counsel; Tyler Cummings, Deputy Director, Frontier Lands Management Division, Petroleum Resources Branch. Department of Employment and Social Development: Brenda Baxter, Director General, Workplace Directorate, Labour Program. Canada-Newfoundland and Labrador Offshore Petroleum Board: Scott Tessier, Chair and Chief Executive Officer; Susan Glover, Legal Counsel. Canada-Nova Scotia Offshore Petroleum Board: Stuart Pinks, Chief Executive Officer.

Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Tuesday, November 26, 2013, the Committee commenced consideration of Bill C-5, An Act to amend the Canada-Newfoundland Atlantic Accord Implementation Act, the Canada-Nova Scotia Offshore Petroleum Resources Accord Implementation Act and other Acts and to provide for certain other measures.

Jeff Labonté made a statement and, with Anne-Marie Fortin and Brenda Baxter, answered questions.


At 4:33 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:38 p.m., the sitting resumed.


Scott Tessier and Stuart Pinks made statements and answered questions.


At 5:09 p.m., Peter Julian took the Chair.


At 5:11 p.m., Leon Benoit took the Chair.


At 5:33 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Rémi Bourgault
Clerk of the Committee

2014-06-13 10:20 a.m.