Skip to main content
Start of content

PROC Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 31
Wednesday, April 9, 2014

The Standing Committee on Procedure and House Affairs met in a televised session at 7:06 p.m. this day, in Room C-110, 1 Wellington Street, the Chair, Joe Preston, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: David Christopherson, Alexandrine Latendresse, Joe Preston, Scott Reid, Blake Richards and Craig Scott.


Acting Members present: Dave MacKenzie for Brad Butt, Erin O'Toole for Ted Opitz, LaVar Payne for Tom Lukiwski and Scott Simms for Kevin Lamoureux.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Andre Barnes, Analyst; Erin Virgint, Research Assistant.


Witnesses: Raising the Roof: Carolann Barr, Executive Director. RainCity Housing and Support Society: Leslie Remund, Associate Director. Ethiopian Association in GTA and Surrounding Regions: Wosen Yitna Beyene, President. Burnaby Task Force on Homelessness: Wanda Mulholland, Community Development Coordinator. Portland Hotel Society: Nathan Allen, Manager, Pigeon Park Savings. London Homeless Coalition: Abram Oudshoorn, Chair.

Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Monday, February 10, 2014, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-23, An Act to amend the Canada Elections Act and other Acts and to make consequential amendments to certain Acts.

Wosen Yitna Beyene, by videoconference from Toronto, Ontario, Carolann Barr and Leslie Remund made statements and answered questions.


At 7:57 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 8:01 p.m., the sitting resumed.


Wanda Mulholland and Nathan Allen, by videoconference from Vancouver, British Columbia, and Abram Oudshoorn made statements and answered questions.


At 8:55 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Marie-France Renaud
Clerk of the Committee

2014/04/10 9:28 a.m.